Cold water swimming and “the change”

For the women who have swum throughout their lives.....pre, during, and post menopause, particularly......

Do you (or did you) find any differences in terms of managing the cold in relation to the presence of hot flashes?

I’m just starting out exploring colder water, and it happens to coincide with the development of hot flashes by my body.....I wonder whether I’d be able to do as well as I have if my body wasn’t basically an independent furnace at times.

And.... slightly tongue in cheek.... would hot flashes have to be disclosed for a documented swim..... as something helping the swimmer to stay warm??? ?

flystormsBridgetwendyv34

Comments

• flystormsflystorms Memphis, TNSenior Member

Sara how does your body react after the flash is over? Do you get even colder?

I have to laugh at this question. About 2 years ago, I was doing a long swim on a chilly February Saturday morning and my coach instructed me to do a 5k straight through for time. No problem, except that the pool's boiler was acting up and it was at about 84 degrees. One of the vents was at the end of the lane I was in. I'd swim over the top of it, turn and go over it again. I got a massive hot flash, jumped out of the pool and ran outside in my wet suit/body and stood out there for a couple of minutes to cool off. Coach didn't know what to do with it when I told him what was happening. I just finished it out on my own time that day. LOL!

Bridget
  • SydneDSydneD Senior Member

Perimenopause here. (FUN!)
    No change at all in that department. I'm still f'ing freezing all the time.

I do think about what Stacy Sims talks about in her Women are Not Small Men video and I think it's worth watching.

heartKari33
  • Post flash, I’m not colder.....usually just back to normal.
    Don’t notice anything while swimming.........wondering if those periodic increases help in any way.

Lol.....your hot water......