speedwork

How important is speedwork when training for a 10 mile open water swim? I am relatively new to marathon swimming and I am training for Swim The Suck in October. Should I focus mainly on endurance and form (which i love!) or also add in some speedwork ( which i hate)? I currently swim 4 days per week averaging 12-13,000y per week, and will add a 5th when pool reopens after maintenance.. I also use a VASA trainer to work on form/strength and stroke rate (and to use when pool is closed). Also, are there any training plans out there to use as a template?

PasqualemiklcctLakeBagger

Comments

• Laurie, I would say that it depends how fast you want to swim! :) I think of speed as a tool in my toolbelt. I can always kick or increase my turnover in a pinch, but getting through a 10 mile+ swim like the Swim the Suck (with some current assist!) is more about enduring.

LakeBaggerflystorms
  • LaurieLaurie New Member

I’m not looking to win, only to finish and feel well to the end. Thanks for the info!

• IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member

I still do a bit of speed work, if you call it speed (all relative), for those times when I am coming up near someone and I want to pass them. And if I've got a 5K coming up, I'll definitely do speedwork, mostly things like swim LSD for an hour, then 10-min fast (again, relative). Can't hurt and it breaks up a boring long swim.

Enjoy StS. That's my favorite swim of all time. Done it 3 times and will try to get in again in the future.

LakeBagger

We're all just carbon, water, starlight, oxygen and dreams

• celsarbo5celsarbo5 FresnoMember

@Laurie said: