Do we really need sanctioning/ratifying organizations?

ssthomasssthomas DenverCharter Mem​ber

This is something I’ve been chewing on for a few years now, so please bear with me. I don’t know the right answers, so I thought maybe we could start a discussion here.

At what point can swimmers bail on an existing sanctioning/ratifying organization? Some organizations, such as the Catalina Channel Swimming Federation, the CSA and the CS&PF, really do offer a great service to swimmers. For example, you can’t swim the English Channel without the CSA or CS&PF and I wouldn’t suggest doing a Catalina swim without the CCSF. These groups provide local knowledge, have vetted boat captains to see you across safely, send someone out to watch you, help provide basic medical care in case of an emergency, and provide legitimacy to a swim/swimmer. But what happens when a group isn’t doing their job anymore? What do you do when a sanctioning organization is essentially the same as the boat pilot and you have no choice except to pay extraordinary fees because these people have a monopoly over a body of water?

Right now, the status quo seems to be that you just suck it up, keep your mouth shut, follow weird rules, suffer through lack of communication, and hope that you make it. I’m just not sure that’s going to cut it anymore. Why should one group/organization/person essentially “own” a body of water, and for our community to vilify swimmers who find alternatives when they don’t want to pay huge fees for a swim when they can logically and safely complete a swim without hundreds (or even thousands) of dollars in extra fees?