Swim around Key West Training Plan

edited December 2020 in Beginner Questions
I am new to open water swimming and have decided that I would like to try to complete the swim around Key West next year solo. I want to know peoples opinions on the volume of training I will need to complete the swim and if it is even a reasonable goal. My background is 20 or so triathlons including most recently escape from alcatraz, and ironman lake tahoe. I have never swam more than 2.4 miles. My time for tahoe was respectable by triathlete standards at a 1:15. I would categorize myself as a slower swimmer 1:18/100 YD the fastest I've ever done and usually settle in around1:45 TO 1:50/100yd. I would also say that although these times are slow I can maintain them for long periods of time without any discomfort. I know that this will be a huge undertaking, but feel mentally strong after tackling an ironman. My only goal would be to finish inside the 8 hour cutoff which I think equates to roughly a 2:11/100yd for 12.5 miles. What says everyone? Thanks for the help, suggestions and training volume plans.
Tagged:

Comments

• gregocgregoc Charter Member
    Most importantly, only do the one organized by the FKCC. They are well organized and make safety a priority. The organizers do not swim their own event.

The water will be warm >85 degrees. You will need to hydrate more than usual.

Your speed will not be an issue. You will get a bit of a push on the gulf side of the island. At your pace you should be able to finish in about 6-6.5 hours.

There is a lot of good info on workouts and swim prep on this forum. Build your weekly yardage slowly. KW is a fun town to hang out in after the swim.
  • flystormsflystorms Memphis, TNSenior Member