How far in advance to start planning solo marathon swim?

Hi folks,
So, I have a swim I have been dreaming about for at least 4 years. It hasn't been done before, and I have access to support crew, a possible boat, a safety officer, and 1-2 kayakers to trade off support. I am looking to be the first to do this particular swim, following Federation guidelines specifically.

It's a swim of approximately 15 miles in length, although maybe 16 depending upon route.

Here's the thing--I have just been given the possibility of attempting this in June, which is, as we know, coming up quite soon. Does that seem feasible in terms of planning and execution? I have done a bunch, but clearly would have a lot more to do in a very short period of time. I am a super organized person---some might say anal but, ahem, my husband the peanut gallery can shut it! ;)

I'd love to hear your thoughts about this, and perhaps what you wish someone had asked you to think about when planning your first solo swims in this way.

Also, does anyone know how to reach Jeff Cooperman? We talked in St. Croix about his St. John swim and I'd love to pick his brain again.

Thanks everyone!! :)

pavlicovdpm50miklcct

Comments

• IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member

I guess it really depends upon where? My Issyk Kul swim took a lot of pre-planning, like 10 months or so, but lots of that was educating the Kyrgyz boat pilots what marathon swimming was, assuring them I'm serious, then when they fell out, finding another boat and starting all over. Sounds like you've got all that taken care of.

June? I guess that would be plenty of time if you don't have to worry about getting visas, finding the crew, etc. If you're organized, the planning and execution shouldn't be a problem.