FINIS enters marketing relationship with Diana Nyad

2»

Comments

• phodgeszohophodgeszoho UKSenior Member
    edited September 2016

@grappledunk - I am no expert. However there are guidelines on Endorsements, which it would seem is the core of their campaign. That Diana Nyad is endorsing their product, and that has weight because of her experience/celebrity status etc. If that experience is based on falsehoods then the campaign is misleading.

https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/media-resources/truth-advertising/advertisement-endorsements

Endorsements are an important tool for advertisers and they can be persuasive to consumers. But the law says they also have to be truthful and not misleading. The FTC’s Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising are guidelines designed to help advertisers of all stripes – TV, print, radio, blogs, word-of-mouth marketing – make sure that they meet this standard. For example, advertisers are advised that using unrepresentative testimonials may be misleading if they are not accompanied by information describing what consumers can generally expect from use of the product or service. In addition, the Endorsement Guides let endorsers know that they shouldn’t talk about their experience with a product if they haven’t tried it, or make claims about a product that would require proof they don’t have. The Endorsement Guides also state that if there is a connection between the endorser and the marketer of a product that would affect how people evaluate the endorsement, it should be disclosed. The Guides are not regulations, and so there are no civil penalties associated with them. But if advertisers don’t follow the guides, the FTC may decide to investigate whether the practices are unfair or deceptive under the FTC Act.