Shark Shield: Ankle or Kayak?

SeanSean Member
edited April 2015 in Beginner Questions

Hi,

I am fairly new to long distance swimming, having taken up the sport after many years of no swimming (i was a sprinter as a kid). I will be participating in a 15 km event later in the year in waters where shark attacks have occurred (although not for many years). And as I have a serious (irrational) fear of sharks, I am considering swimming with a shark shield. However I am worried about 2 things:

1) Drag

2) It getting in the way during the chaos at the start of a race

Which leads me to my question..... do you wear the shark shield on your ankle, or from the support kayak? Is the range of the shark shield (presumably 5m according to the comment below?) large enough to safely use from the kayak?

I noticed in the thread http://marathonswimmers.org/forum/discussion/155/shark-shield-effectiveness/p1 , FOREVERSWIM says:
"I was far from the kayak which had the device turned on (the radius I believe is 5m). I take full responsibility to stay near my kayaker if I was concerned about being in the "shield" of protection."

Is this the general practice of marathon swimmers, or do some prefer to wear on your ankle?

Comments

• TheoTheo Oxnard, CAMember

There are several things to consider. In a group race I see no way you could or should wear the shark shield especially the one with the long trailing whip. It shocks all who inadvertently come in contact with it. From experience it is not pleasant to be on the receiving end. There would also be a safety concern with the run into the water other people possibly stepping on it, or it getting caught on other things. On open water swims with support boats it is also a safety concern that the "whip" could get caught in the propeller. I am not sure it would be ethically appropriate for a support kayaker to trail the shield during a mass race as there is the possibility that other swimmers could come in contact with it.