Newbie Here - Glad to have found you

elovbergelovberg Indianapolis, INNew Member

HI,
My name is Emily Lovberg. I am a 64 year old women who want to dive into open water swimming.

I was a competitive swimmer for 10 years in San Diego, CA..... not great but not bad. I was a mid and distance event swimmer as well as participating in many open water events.

Funny thing...... Lynne Cox was in my age group and I swam against her at regionals when I was in my teens. I later found out that my sister was her roommate for a short time at UCSB.

I just happened to google her a few days ago and was totally surprised when I found out what she has done over the last 42 years! I also was so excited because I have the same body shape as Lynne - big legs and arms..... which really prevented me from being a very successful competitive swimmer.

Anyway, I am recently retired and decided its time to start swimming agina... yep.... it has been nearly 42 years since I stopped competing. I have been back in the pool for 4 months now.... I go to lap swim at 5am on weekdays and later on the weekends. I enjoy my workouts so I go everyday.

I am very very slow..... although I swim 3 miles per day. My mile pace is about 35 - 40 minutes (depending upon my workout). I don't stop at 3 miles because I am tired..... rather I run out of time or the damn pool chloramines get to me (indoor pool in Indiana). I am trying to get my endurance and speed back but know that is necessary before attempting any openwater swim.

I am very excited to be back swimming and would like any and all suggestions of what I can do to successfully get into OWS.

Thanks for letting me be a member of your group

Emily

Kate_AlexanderKatieBunflystormsismuqattash

Comments

• swimfreeordieswimfreeordie NHMember
    edited November 2021