Grease and Pace

Cookies_88Cookies_88 Sydney, AustraliaNew Member

Hello Everyone,

I am a new member, residing in Sydney Australia, and originally from Singapore. I aim to swim the English Channel and North Channel in 2022. I started training early this year, but stopped due to the pandemic which caused the pools to close. My weekly mileage is 23 km so far, and I am training to increase the load to 30-35km per week shortly.

I would like to ask what type of grease I should use for ocean swimming. Could Lanolin Oil be used, in lieu of Goose Fat or other alternatives?

Next, what would be an average pace (per 100m) needed to attempt the crossings?

Sincerely,

Mike

miklcctSoloMLamby

Comments

• ColmBreathnachColmBreathnach Charter Member
    edited September 2020

What is generally regarded as "channel grease" is a mixture of lanolin and vaseline, 50/50. You need to heat this to mix it. Use an old saucepan. You will probably not eat anything else cooked in it again.

I don't know about lanolin oil, I've only ever come across lanolin grease, but that was becoming increasingly difficult to get a few years ago. From what I can see, most swimmers just use vaseline now. It seems fine.

I did read somewhere that lanolin is falling out of favour with channel pilots. It gets everywhere and is hard to remove from the boat.

Keep the goose fat for Christmas !

Pace isn't that important. As long as you are making progress the swim will continue. The average swim time is about 13/14 hours, so covering 33K in 14 hours gives a pace of 2:36 /100m. This seems ridiculously slow when compared to pool times. Most swimmers can repeat 100's on 2 mins easily, and typically repeat on 1:40 / 1:45. A good standard is 100x100m on 100s. If you can do that straight through with no rest, you're in the right ball park.