Chaffing -- Is it a given?

So far, my longest time in water has been 4-5 hrs.....all fresh water, not sea/salt water.

But, I've seen people talk about the chaffing that they suffer in a variety of conditions.
Fresh, salt, short, medium, and long distance/time.

I've NEVER had chaffing issues in the water (on the run, THAT's a different story).
But it seems others regularly have it.

I wonder, if chaffing indeed a given - is it inevitable - (provided the right conditions exist)?
Or, are some people "just going" to get it, and others won't?

Because I've never gotten it, I don't particularly think about it before I swim. I use sunscreen, but that's it.
So, I wonder how I'd "know" what to use, where to put it, how much to use, given that I have zero experience w/ it.
You can read a plethora of information about the use of chaffe-reduction protections.... but....is the only way you know you need it to discover the hard way that you need it? (Is that a no-brainer question?)

MLamby

Comments

• kejoycekejoyce New EnglandSenior Member

I think some people have skin that is more prone to chafing, and that there are also stroke-related considerations. In the end, yes I think it is inevitable if you swim long enough - especially in salt!

I chafe very little - I can swim for 3-4h in salt water without any anti-chafe goop and come out fine. I have found that over 4h in salt I do have a couple small spots where my suit will leave marks, but that's it. I think it's partially my skin, but also that I have a pretty "open" stroke, if you will - there aren't any spots where my arms rub against my sides and my arms stay away from my body. I have had a bit of thigh-chafe after a long time in salt-water when I've mis-placed the goop. Skin-on-skin = bad news.

MLambySara_Wolf
  • abbygirlroseabbygirlrose Los Angeles and Palo Alto, CASenior Member