Irregular (Non-Annual) Awards

emkhowleyemkhowley Boston, MACharter Member
edited December 2018 in Admin Communications

In addition to the annual lot of awards offered by the Marathon Swimmers Federation, we also have two categories of irregular, or non-annual, awards that are granted on an as-warranted basis. Nominations for these awards may be submitted privately, any time of year, via the contact form at

Navigator Award

Recognizes extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the sport of solo marathon swimming.

Previous winners:

  • 2017: Evan Morrison

Spirit of Marathon Swimming

Recognizes a swimmer, contributor, or event that has meaningfully exhibited the spirit of marathon swimming. Examples:

  • A swim that draws inspiration from or honors a historic swim or swimmer.
  • A swimmer or contributor who gave up personal glory in order to support another member of the community.

In addition to recognizing that we stand on the shoulders of giants in our continued pursuit of what’s shiny, fast, and new, the Spirit of Marathon Swimming Award seeks to celebrate humble swimmers, contributors, and events that embody the self-sacrificing and collaborative aspects of marathon swimming.

Stop me if you've heard this one...
A grasshopper walks into a bar...

thelittlemerwookieevmoJaimieabbygirlroseIronMikeCopelj26CathyInCALynnkubrlmgregocand 2 others.
Sign In or Register to comment.