CALL FOR NOMINATIONS - 2018 Yudovin Award for Most Adventurous Swim

evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
edited December 2018 in General Discussion

Please submit your nominations for the Yudovin Award for Most Adventurous Swim, by commenting on this thread. (Please also read the general nomination guidelines before nominating.)

Criteria: must be a documented, unassisted, nonstop or staged, solo or tandem swim of an unprecedented (or nearly unprecedented) route. Please include as many details as possible, e.g., date, distance, elapsed time, sanction org or link to documentation, etc.

Previous winners & finalists:

  • 2014: Peter Hayden (Patti Bauernfeind, Katie Benoit)
  • 2015: Wendy Trehiou (Dave Van Mouwerik, Jen Dutton, Peter Hayden)
  • 2016: Lori King (Jeff Miller, Greg O'Connor)
  • 2017: Jaimie Monahan (Sydne Dider, Karl Kingery, Brian Lanahan)

The MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards, now in their seventh year, are the only peer-nominated, peer-voted awards for the sport of marathon swimming.



  • SueDysonSueDyson Mem​ber
    edited December 2018

    I would like to nominate Molly Nance (@molly1205 on here) for her completion of the St Lucia Channel in 2018.
    Although the channel had been swam and completed in 1987 by Jacques Sicot, Molly became the first woman and first documented swim from St Lucia to Martinique.
    This warm water channel has only been attempted a handful of times with Molly's completion being the first documented completion by a woman!

    On May 16, 2018, covering a distance of 34.1 km (21.2 miles), Molly swam from Cariblue Beach, St Lucia to Anse Meunier beach, Martinique in a time of 13 hours and 56 minutes.
    You can read an account of Molly's swim at the official documentation link:

    Molly Nance's swim has motivated others globally to contact the organizers in preparation of their own attempts. It further has inspired several local swimmers to train more diligently to complete the swim. For this reason, I believe Molly Nance and her swim should receive a nomination.

  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    edited December 2018

    For the Yudovin Award I nominate Ken Mignosa, for his unprecedented two-way swim to/from Santa Cruz Island in the Santa Barbara Channel. A double Santa Cruz is a minimum 38-mile route, and had never been done, but Ken decided to make it even longer by detouring around the back side of Anacapa Island on the outbound leg.

    A beautiful, long, tough swim made even more beautiful, longer, and tougher by Ken's imagination and ambition.

    Ken's nomination for this award is even more apt because David Yudovin himself was the first person to swim Santa Cruz Island (one-way) back in 1983.


This discussion has been closed.