Global Marathon Swimming Awards 2014 - FINALISTS

evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
edited March 2015 in Admin Communications
Congratulations to the finalists for the Third Annual MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards - the only peer-nominated, peer-voted awards for the sport of marathon swimming.

Solo Swim of the Year (Female)

Solo Swim of the Year (Male)
  • Bob Fernald (English Channel swim against 'foot-long odds')
  • Craig Lenning (First solo swim from the Farallon Islands to the mainland since 1967)
  • Otto Thaning (Oldest to swim the English Channel)

Barra Award for Most Impressive Overall Year (Female)

Barra Award for Most Impressive Overall Year (Male)

Streeter Award for Service to Marathon Swimming
  • Roger Finch and Tracy Clark (English Channel crew) - nomination
  • Greg O'Connor (Boston Light race director, Mass. OWSA founder, NEKOWSA volunteer) - nomination
  • Grace and Neil van der Byl (Southern California swim support crew, paddlers, organizers, and observers) - nomination

Yudovin Award for Most Adventurous Swim
  • Patti Bauernfeind (First Monterey Bay crossing since 1980) - documentation
  • Katie Benoit (Three-way crossing of Lake Constance, Germany) - Bodenseequerung results
  • Peter Hayden (First-ever circumnavigation of Anacapa Island, and then across the channel to the mainland without stopping) - SBCSA announcement

In the interest of transparency:

- Finalists are listed alphabetically by last name.
- Finalists for the Solo Swim, Barra Award, and Streeter Award were chosen purely on the basis of support from the Forum community, as measured by 'Likes.'
- Finalists for the Yudovin Award were chosen by the admins, due to an insufficient field of community nominees.
- The advent of the Yudovin Award led to the adoption of two new policies: (1) Just as groups/relays are not eligible for Solo Swim of the Year, neither are groups/relays eligible for the Yudovin Award. (2) A single individual may not be a finalist for the same swim for both Solo Swim of the Year and the Yudovin Award.
- The 'Service to Marathon Swimming Award' is henceforth renamed to the Streeter Award for Service to Marathon Swimming, in hono(u)r of last year's winner, Freda Streeter.

Stay tuned for upcoming announcements about the voting procedures and schedule.

Thanks to all who submitted nominations!


  • HelbeHelbe Senior Member
    Congratulations to all the finalists, very well deserved each and every one. So hard to choose winners.
  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    Hi everyone,

    So, typically we try to get the awards voting started by mid-December (last year the emails went out on the 12th). Obviously, we're running a little behind schedule this year. Between coordinating the first swim documentation review, and formalizing recognition of a world record, and standing in line at the post office mailing out calendars (thanks to all who bought!), we've been pretty maxed out here at MSF HQ.

    The voting "app" is mostly set up now, but alas, it's now Christmas week and folks are away from their computers, with families... and hopefully swimming! (If the latter, please see @loneswimmer's excellent advice).

    As a result, the sending of the voting emails (with unique tokens for each Forum member) will begin next week - Monday December 29th - with reminders going out the following Tuesday, January 6th. We anticipate closing the polls at midnight GMT Wednesday, January 14.

    Thanks for your patience!
  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    edited December 2014
    Here is the text of the awards "ballots," to be published on the voting website.

    In most cases, these are copied/pasted (with light editing) directly from the Forum nominations. Thanks to those of you who wrote detailed nominations.

    If you notice any mistakes, misspellings, etc., please let me know as soon as possible via this contact form. Thanks.
  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    edited December 2014
    The voting invitation emails have now been sent to all Forum members registered before the opening of nominations (November 16).

    The email was sent from 'Marathon Swimmers Federation' with an address of awards2014 at marathonswimmers dot org.

    If you haven't received the email, and you think you should have:

    1. Check your spam folder.
    2. Check to see that the email address associated with your Forum account is up to date. If it isn't, please PM me the updated address.
    3. If all else fails, contact me through this form.

    Thanks for voting!
  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    edited January 2015
    Voting for the MSF Awards will remain open for another week, through 11:59pm GMT Monday, January 12.

    All Forum members registered before November 16 are eligible to vote for the Awards.

    To vote, click on the personalized link in the email that was sent to all eligible Forum members on December 29. If you didn't receive this email or have misplaced it, send me a private message through the Forum to get your personalized link.

  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    Voting closes in a few hours. Last chance!
This discussion has been closed.